Library Board

The Huntsville Public Library Board is currently governed by seven-member Board with six citizens and one councillor, appointed by the Town of Huntsville Council.

The Huntsville Public Library is currently seeking citizen appointments to the Huntsville Public Library Board, with membership to commence January 1, 2019 and last until the end of the Board’s tenure – December 31, 2022.

View the Library Board Recruitment page

2014 – 2018 Library Board

Board chair

  • Sue Dixon

Vice chair

  • David Purchase

Council representative

  • Brian Thompson

Board members

  • Patty Butler
  • David James
  • Sue Morris
  • Barb Stephen
  • Lorraine Thomas


  • Deborah Duce, CEO/Chief Librarian

Library Board bylaws and policies

View our Policies page for the Library Board bylaws and a complete list of library policies.


The Library Board meets on the second Monday of the month at 5:30 PM. The Board Chair may call special meetings, as necessary.







More information


The Huntsville Public Library received its first accreditation under the Ontario Public Library Guidelines Program in December 2014. We are currently the only library in the District of Muskoka to achieve accreditation.

The Ontario Public Library Guidelines Program was established to recognize excellence in library service.

Annual Reports

Previous annual reports are available upon request.

Mission Statement


A vital centre to collaborate, connect and explore the world in which we live.


To provide accessible services, programs, collections and spaces designed to inspire and enrich the community.


  • Intellectual Freedom
  • Equitable Access
  • Sustainability
  • Respect
  • Innovation
  • Accountability
  • Leadership
  • Community
  • Life Long Learning
  • Creativity

Strategic Plan

View our 2017-2020 Strategic Plan

Contact Us